Vanuatu Snap Election countdown

Vanuatu Electoral Officer

All ballot boxes are expected to be dispatched to all 18 respective constituencies in Vanuatu by today.

The first dispatch of the ballot boxes occurred over the weekend for the Noumea Polling Station in New Caledonia.

The Australian aircraft Monday transported ballot boxes for the Malekula constituency and Tanna constituency. Ballot boxes for Aneityum, Aniwa, and Futuna were also on that flight.

Vanuatu’s Principal Electoral Officer, Joe Johnson Iati, said the helicopter will be flying to Erromango today to dispatch the ballot box, and will also distribute ballot boxes for Aneityum, Aniwa, and Futuna, from Tanna.

The HELPR1 has assisted with the dispatch of ballot boxes. According to Iati, HELPR1 departed Port Vila yesterday with ballot boxes for the Shepherds constituency.

Landing Craft Young Blood will also be leaving today with ballot boxes for Banks and Torres constituencies.

Pentecost constituency will be expecting their ballot boxes today, while Santo and Ambae constituencies received theirs on Sunday.

With 219 candidates contesting the snap election, Chairman of the Electoral Commission, Edward Kaltamat confirmed between 8-10 million ballot papers have been printed.

There are a total of 352 polling stations across Vanuatu with 302,307 registered voters.

Polling starts on Thursday, October 13, 2022.

One Response

Comments are closed.