Vanuatu: Pact signed to form new government

PHOTO: Rex Issachar/Graon mo Jastis Pati/Facebook

The formation of Vanuatu’s new Government is in the works, after a pact signing between 31 candidates of the snap election who have secured seats in their respective constituencies, according to unofficial results.

But Vanua’aku Pati (VP), Rural Development Party (RDP), Iauko Group (IG) and National United Party (NUP) are not party to the agreement which was signed last night at the proposed new government camp at Sunset Bungalows Resort in Port Vila.

The pact was signed by Union of Moderate Parties (UMP), Reunification of Movement of Change (RMC), Leaders Party of Vanuatu (LPV), Graon mo Jastis Pati (GJP), People’s Progressive Party (PPP), and others.

The sharing of ministerial portfolios will be decided by the leaders of the political parties and revealed soon.

Gloria Julia King will be the only female MP in the 13th Legislature. She was present in the government camp during the signing of the pact between the political parties last night. 

Meanwhile, a negotiation team for the Union of Moderate Parties (UMP) has been appointed to assist with the party’s way forward, as Vanuatu awaits the release of official results from the Snap Election.

This has been confirmed by the Party President, the caretaker Deputy Prime Minister, Ishmael Kalsakau, through a statement issued by UMP Secretary General, Kalfau Moli.

“UMP’s sudden increase in the number of seats secured based on unofficial election results that have been made public since Thursday, 13 October at 5pm has prompted that party’s parliamentary caucus and UMP National Executive to appoint a negotiating team to direct the party president in possible discussions regarding the formation of a new coalition,” the statement relayed.

The party Vice president and re-elected Member of Parliament (MP) for Tanna, Nakou Natuman heads the team, which consists of the UMP National Treasurer and re-elected MP for Port Vila, Tony Iauko and newly elected MPs, MP for Efate Rural, Samuel Kalpoilep and re-elected MP Anatole Hymak.

President Kalsakau who is also re-elected MP for Port Vila, congratulated all seven UMP MPs, and has confirmed that any discussion regarding the formation of a possible government will be directed only by the negotiation team.

He extended his congratulatory message to the sole elected woman MP who is also a member of UMP, Julia King, and reassured Vanuatu that MP King’s win is one big step for women empowerment.

Kalsakau took the opportunity to congratulate all other political parties that were being successful in the recent election, and indicated that the election is another sign that Vanuatu’s democracy is strong and vibrant.

Official results for the election should be released by the end of this week.

One Response

Comments are closed.