Vanuatu cabinet reshuffle

Vanuatu Opposition Leader Ishmael Kalsakau

Vanuatu Prime Minister Ishmael Kalsakau has made a cabinet reshuffle.

MP for Santo Rural Samson Samsen has been appointed new Minister for Trade.

Matai Seremaiah is now Minister for Foreign Affairs and Deputy Prime Minister replacing Jotham Napat.

A motion of no confidence bearing the signatures of 29 Members of Parliament was lodged and received by the office of the Vanuatu Speaker of Parliament last Thursday.

The signatories mainly comprise Vanua’aku Pati (VP) MPs led by Opposition Leader Loughman, Rural Development Party grouping under MP Ngwele’s leadership, former government ministers, government backbenchers as well as the Speaker of Parliament.

Major government coalition partners Leaders Party of Vanuatu (LPV) and Graon mo Jastis Pati (GJP) are not part of the motion. The 29 MPs who now command the majority are requesting for Parliament to convene in an Extraordinary session to debate the motion.