New dates for stalled Micronesian Games announced

Photo: Northern Mariana Sports Association

The twice-delayed Micronesian Games will now be held from 15-24 June, 2024 in Majuro, Marshall Islands.

The Micronesian Games Council said the new dates for the quadrennial event was decided following a special virtual meeting on 02 May.

The Council announced in March that it was delaying the 10th Games due to be held this July in Majuro due to the unreadiness of the host islands’ sports facilities.

It’s the second time the Games had to be postponed with the event due to take place in July-August 2022 pulled due to ongoing uncertainty about covid-19 and restricted travel in the region.

The May 2 meeting saw the council and the Marshall Islands Games organising committee provide updates on the venues and facilities as well as share their concerns for the 2024 Micronesian Games.

They expressed satisfaction that the venues and facilities will be ready on time for June 2024.

“The Micronesian Games is an event like no other,” Marshall Islands Minister of Education, Sports & Training, Wilbur Heine, said in a letter to Micronesian Games Council president Aurelio Joab.

“Its organisation and participation by the ten countries, states, and territories of Micronesia reflects the true spirit of our culture and identity and acknowledges the opportunities that sport brings to the youth of our countries,” he said.

“We look forward to welcoming our Micronesian family and friends in the summer of 2024.”

MGC executives will work directly with the host organising committee on the facilitation and preparation of the Games headed by Marshall Islands Senator and Marshall Islands MGA president Anthony Muller.

Between 1500 and 2000 athletes, coaches and officials are expected for the games from Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam and Northern Mariana Islands.

This is the first Micronesian Games to be hosted by the Marshall Islands since the games were initiated in 1969. After this initial competition, there was a hiatus for two decades before the games re-launched on a four-year cycle beginning in 1990. Palau, Guam, the Northern Marianas and the Federated States of Micronesia have all hosted the games multiple occasions.