Xanana Gusmao’s party wins Timor-Leste election but falls short of majority

Timor-Leste independence leader Xanana Gusmao’s party has won the parliamentary election but has fallen short of an outright majority. The opposition National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction (CNRT) led with

Read More

Ramos-Horta triumphs Timor-Leste presidential election

Nobel prize winner José Ramos-Horta has scored a landslide victory in the Timor-Leste presidential election, according to preliminary results published by the country’s election secretariat. The 72-year-old

Read More