PNG election: Pangu leads, PNC jolted

(August 2, 2022) Coalition Partners taking group photo at Pangu Pati Camp in Loloata. PHOTO: Pangu Pati for 2022/Facebook

The ruling Pangu Pati and its coalition parties have 46 elected MPs in camp and are confident of forming the next PNG government, says party leader and Papua New Guinea Prime Minister James Marape. 

In a joint media conference with the leaders of the party’s coalition partners in Port Moresby, Marape said they were hoping to get around 80 MPs by the end of the week. 

He said they were a group of like-minded leaders who wanted to complete what they started three years ago. 

The 46 is made up of 22 from Pangu, five from the United Resource Party, four from the National Alliance, three Independent candidates, three from the People’s Party, two from the Social Democratic Party, two from the People’s First Party, and one each from the Liberal Party, People’s Reform Party, People’s Progress Party, United Labour Party, and Destiny Party. 

“We have other parties who have also expressed interest in joining us,” he said. 

“So far, out of the 58 MPs elected into office, 46 are in the Pangu and coalition parties’ camp,” he said. 

Meanwhile, the People’s National Congress (PNC) is trailing with only nine seats and it was jolted by last week’s GE22 results when its deputy leader and former deputy prime minister Davis Steven was ousted in Milne Bay’s Esa’ala. 

Steven was toppled by Pangu Pati’s Jimmy Maladina who crossed the absolute majority with 9,359 votes while Steven was at 7,307. 

In another shock result, PNC’s greenhorn Anderson Mise, ended veteran politician Patrick Pruaitch’s four-term stranglehold on the seat that he first won in GE02 (7th Parliament). Mise was declared the winner during the elimination of the ballot count after securing 16,929 votes, whilst Pruaitch garnered only 9,924 votes. 

Pangu Pati is still leading with 22 seats, trailed by PNC (nine), United Resources Party (four), National Alliance (three) and, People’s Party and Social Democratic Party winning two seats each. 

They are joined by the three victorious Independents (all new MPs) – East New Britain Governor Michael Marum, Menyamya’s Solen Loifa and Middle Fly’s Maso Hewabi.