May 09, 2021 Last Updated 7:04 AM, May 7, 2021

The uneven playing field

Published in April-May
Read 9614 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Tagged under

IN March, five Pacific Islands Countries – American Samoa, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Samoa and Vanuatu – suddenly found themselves on the European Union’s revised list of noncooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, otherwise widely known as the EU tax blacklist.

The revised list was released after a meeting of the Council of the European Union in Brussels in early March and punishes countries that maintain what the EU considers to be “harmful” tax incentives in their list of tax giveaways.

The list has had its share of criticism from some countries, who label it as an almost draconian move that ignores the economic realities on the ground in each of these countries.

International lawyer John Ridgway, Head of Legal Services, Pacific Legal Network (PLN) Australia, is also critical of the EU’s decision. Ridgway, who is a Reserve Bank of Fiji licensed Investment Advisor Representative and a former Chairman of the Vanuatu Financial Centre Association, spoke to Islands Business on the issue. read more buy your personal copy at

Last modified on Wednesday, 08 May 2019 23:08

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.