May 15, 2021 Last Updated 6:06 PM, May 14, 2021

It's James Marape

By Samisoni Pareti

James Marape is the new Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea.

National parliament voted overwhelmingly for Marape when it took the vote for Prime Minister today. He won 101 votes to 8, beating the other nominee, Sir Mekere Morauta.

Former Prime Minister, Peter O’Neill was also a nominee, but withdrew minutes after he had accepted the nomination.

He told parliament that he had accepted the nomination in the belief that the opposition was only going to submit one candidate for prime minister.

After declared winner of the vote by Speaker Job Pomat, parliament was adjourned to allow the Prime Minister elect to call on the Governor General.

Marape, 48 was finance minister in Peter O’Neill’s government until April this year when he resigned to join the opposition.

He was the opposition’s first nominee for prime minister two weeks ago, but his name was dropped last week in favour of Patrick Pruaitch.

It was Pruaitch however who moved the nomination of O’Neill in parliament today, although he went onto to vote for Marape, and not Morauta when divisions were called.

Also voting for Marape was O’Neill and members of his PNC party.

EMTV says the only member of parliament that did not cast his vote and who was absent from today’s session was vocal Madang Open MP, Bryan Kramer.


By Peni Komaisavai

Papua New Guinea’s government has asked the country’s High Court to stay the processing of a no-confident motion in Parliament, saying if it is heard, it could be in contempt of court.

The Opposition has filed a no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister, Peter O’Neill. However Justice Minister and Attorney General Alfred Manase says a related issue is already pending before the Supreme Court.

Manase has urged people to understand his role to “ensure that the rule of law is respected and observed at all times, even by parliament,” according to PNG media reports.

PNG’s government has been in a state of turmoil in recent weeks, with a number of cabinet resignations and MPs switching sides of the house.

Three government MPs—Kiriwina-Goodenough’s Douglas Tomuriesa, Talasea’s Francis Maneke and Sohe MP Henry Amuli—resigned from the ruling party, before reversing that decision and participating in a traditional reconciliation ceremony.

The trio have told local media that they were sticking with government to ensure projects benefiting their constitituencies are seen through.

Parliament is due to sit on May 28.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.